The 17th International
Hydrocolloids Conference

Glyn O. Phillips Prize Recipient

The Glyn O. Phillips Prize is awarded biennially at the International Hydrocolloids Conferences (IHC), and consists of a cash prize and a medal. The prize was instituted to recognize the legacy of Prof. G. O. Phillips of Wrexham Glyndwr University, Wales, to the field of food hydrocolloids, polysaccharides and dietary fibre.

The Call for Nominations is now closed.


The International Hydrocolloids Society is pleased to announce that Prof. Shaoping Nie, Nanchang University, China, is the 2024 recipient of the G. O. Phillips Prize. Prof. Nie will receive the medal and present the lecture “Prospects for the Relationship of the Structure of Bioactive Polysaccharides and Their Multifunctional Effects” at the International Hydrocolloids Conference at Massey University, New Zealand on Nov. 13, 2024.

Prof. Shaoping Nie is distinguished professor of Nanchang University, and also Vice President of Nanchang University. He received his PhD degree in Food Science at Nanchang University in 2006. After that, he joined Nanchang University and promoted to Full Professor in 2011, he also worked as International Fellow at Temasek Polytechnic in Singapore for one year (2006-2007) and NSERC Visiting Fellow at Guelph Food Research Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada for two years (2009-2011). Furthermore, Prof. Nie is the Associate Editor for Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry (2022-), Associate Editor of Bioactive Carbohydrates and Dietary Fibre (2016.1-2022.9), Founding Editor in Chief of Food Frontiers (2019.11-2022.12), also the editorial board member for Carbohydrate Polymers, Scientific Report, Food Science and Human Wellness, Current Topics in Nutraceutical Research.

Prof. Nie’s research interests are focused on food chemistry and nutrition, food safety and analysis, especially on the structure, conformation and bioactivities of dietary fibre and bioactive polysaccharides and the relationship of their structure and bioactivities. He also focuses on developing bioactive ingredients for the functional foods and nutraceutical products; developing novel dietary fibre and polysaccharides from natural agricultural products and explores their applications in foods, medicinal and pharmaceutical industries. Prof. Nie has published over 300 peer-reviewed scientific papers in English.


The inaugural prize was awarded in 2022 to Prof. Stefan Kasapis of the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Australia.